Energy Efficient Management of Parallel Systems,

Platforms, and Computations

This special session aims at gathering researchers working in the broad areas of energy-efficient computing and communication systems. This session seeks submissions addressing the different aspects of system management for energy efficient parallel applications and platforms. Emphasis is given to approaches and analyses targeting real-world energy-efficient system implementations as well as novel approaches to energy-efficient design. This special session is organized in cooperation with the COST Action 1305, the Network for Sustainable Ultrascale Computing (NESUS).

Important Dates:

Paper submission:   10th Sep 2018 5th Oct 2018 15th Oct 2018 30th Oct 2018
Acceptance notification:   17th Oct 2018 15th Nov 2018 23rd Nov 2018 27th Nov 201830th Nov 2018
Camera ready due:   12th Nov 2018 15th Dec 2018 19th Dec 2018
Conference: 13th - 15th Feb 2019


    Notification extended
    November 27, 2018
    November 30, 2018

    July 21, 2018:
    List of accepted special sessions

    July 21, 2018:
    Call for paper available


  • Performance and power dissipation issues
  • Energy, performance and quality of experience trade-offs
  • Energy, thermal and power models for parallel applications and platforms
  • Energy consumption profiling of applications and services
  • Optimization approaches for dynamic energy management
  • Hardware and application monitoring for energy efficiency
  • Energy Efficient wired and wireless networking for distributed computing
  • Design and analysis of energy/performance benchmarks
  • Evaluation of approaches across domains, e.g., from embedded systems to server domains
  • Energy harvesting methodologies, techniques, and systems
  • Energy efficiency in the HPC-BigData convergence era
  • Energy efficiency of HPC in Cloud, Fog and Edge Computing
  • Energy efficient computing for Financial Technologies and applications
  • Innovative design and management methodologies for energy management

Programme Co-chairs:

Sebastien Lafond, Abo Akademi University, Finland

Laurent Lefèvre, Inria, France

Jean-Marc Pierson, IRIT - University of Toulouse, France

Tim Süß, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany

Tuan Trinh,Corvinus University of Budapest , Hungary

Programme Committee:

Marcos Assuncao, Inria, LIP, ENS Lyon, France

Domenico Talia, University of Calabria, Italy

Attila Marosi, Institute for computer science and control - Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary

Zhiyi Huang, University of Otago, New Zealand

Olivier Gluck, Université de Lyon, France

Jörg Keller, FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany

Lionel Morel, INSA Lyon, France

Philipp Gschwandtner, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Lars Nagel, Universität Mainz, Germany

Maxime Pelcat, IETR/INSA Rennes, France

Péter Fehér, Corvinus University of Budapest, Hungary

Georges Dacosta, Toulouse Institute of Computer Science Research, France

Simon Holmbacka, Åbo Akademi University, Finland

Nick Johnson, EPCC - The University of Edinburgh, UK

Markus Mäskers, Universität Mainz, Germany

Lingfang Zeng, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China